Typically every January after Standards of Excellence presentations, the Order of Omega and Greek advisors hold Greek Awards for all ONU’s social sororities and fraternities. However, due to COVID-19 regulations and guidelines, Greek Awards were held in February this year. To begin, Greek Awards is a ceremony that is held to recognize and honor the achievements of Greek students and organizations on our campus, as well as any advisors and faculty. It is usually held in person for at most 30 members from each chapter usually with a variety of dessert present. 

Due to this atypical year with the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and strict guidelines, there were difficult times for all of the Greek members to keep up with standard activities and events, however realizing even through the unforeseeable situations we as a community got through all of 2020 together and supported one another. So with that being said, Greek Awards 2021 for the year 2020 was considered to be one of the proudest moments for the entire greek community. 

Sunday, February 28, 2021, Greek Awards were held in the McIntosh ballroom at 7pm via Zoom. Each fraternity and sorority were allotted only one member from each chapter to receive the awards. The following greek organizations that were present included 4 sororities: Alpha Xi Delta, Zeta Tau Alpha, Delta Zeta, and Kappa Alpha Theta; 7 fraternities: Delta Sigma Phi, Alpha Sigma Phi, Sigma Pi, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Theta Chi, Phi Gamma Delta (FIJI), and Phi Mu Delta.

The following award categories, alongside with the results, included:
Outstanding Staff Member of the Year Award – Jen Gudaskunst and Christopher Caldwell

Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year Award – Dr. Matthew Kutch and Dr. Yousif Rojeab

Outstanding Advisor of the Year Award – Teri Okrutny (Alpha Xi Delta) and Shana Tachikawa (Sigma Pi)

New Member Scholar of the Year Award – Rosie Shroeder (Zeta Tau Alpha) and Castin Schulz (Sigma Pi)

Outstanding Greek Athlete of the Year Award – Jeorgia Templin (Delta Zeta) and Cole Millhime (Phi Mu Delta)

Most Improved Chapter GPA – Alpha Xi Delta and Phi Gamma Delta

Standards of Excellence (SOE) Bronze – Alpha Sigma Phi and Delta Sigma Phi

Standards of Excellence (SOE) Silver – Sigma Phi Epsilon and Kappa Alpha Theta

Standards of Excellence (SOE) Gold – Phi Mu Delta, Alpha Xi Delta, Delta Zeta, and Zeta Tau Alpha

President’s Award (highest GPA) – Phi Mu Delta and Alpha Xi Delta

Outstanding Greek Man of the Year – Colt Biehl (Alpha Sigma Phi)

Outstanding Greek Woman of the Year – Anna Russ (Delta Zeta)

With COVID-19 pandemic and guidelines, it has been hard on the Greek Community, everything has changed. Missing all of the various events and not being able to see each other around as much anymore, Greek chapters are distant from one another. Nonetheless, being able to have Greek Awards at least virtually made each chapter realize how grateful they all are to be recognized for all of the achievements made throughout all the uncertainties of 2020. Congratulations to all the Greek Awards recipients of each award given.

Leave a Reply